The EMC’s Board of Trustees is its main governing body. It sets the charity`s strategic aims and makes sure funds are spent wisely and with probity. Each of our trustees has made an outstanding contribution to the field of education, journalism or research:

Richard Garner was Education Editor of The Independent for 12 years and has been writing about the subject for 34 years.

Professor Rose Luckin is Chair of Learning with Digital Technologies at UCL-Institute of Education. She has been developing and writing about the learning sciences, educational technology and Artificial Intelligence in education (AIEd) for over 20 years.

Andrew Morris (Chair) is a consultant specialising in the interaction of educational research, policy and practice and was director of the National Educational Research Forum in England.

Ian Nash is an education journalist,media consultant and former Assistant Editor at the Times Education Supplement, where he created FE Focus.


The work of the EMC is informed, shaped and supported by a panel of Research Advisors. They reflect the range of areas of education and training which interest the public and the media  – from early years to higher education and adult learning.

Dr Jonathan Sharples – Education Endowment Foundation.

Richard Bartholomew – former Chief Research Officer at the Department for Education, and former Joint Head of Government Social Research.

Professor Robert Coe – Durham University

Professor Kathy Sylva – Oxford University

Professor Anna Vignoles – Cambridge University, Institute for Fiscal Studies , Institute of Education – University of London.

Professor Steve Higgins – Durham University

Our Research Advisers help ensure the quality and authority of the research and expertise used by the EMC.

We are guided in this by a set of Operating Principles.

Since its earliest stages the EMC has been supported by highly-regarded Patrons and Fellows who act as ambassadors for the centre and who add much value to its success.


Andrew Adonis – Peer. Director of Institute for Government

Neil Carmichael MP–  Former Chair, Commons Education Select Committee

John Dunford – Chair, Whole Education. Former General Secretary of the Association of School and College Leaders (ASCL)

Greg Dyke – Former Director-General, BBC.

James Fothergill – Head of Education and Skills, CBI

Judith Judd, former editor of the TES and the Independent

Sue Littlemore, former CEO for the EMC and BBC education correspondent.

Estelle Morris – Peer.Chair, Institute for Effective Education (IEE) Strategy Board

David Puttnam – Peer. Chancellor, Open University

Nick Pearce – Director, Institute for Public Policy Research (IPPR)

Andreas Schleicher – Director for Education & Skills, OECD

Gillian Shephard – Peer

Phil Willis – Peer. Former Chair, Science and Technology Select Committee.


Sir Jon Coles: CEO, United Learning

Professor Joelle Fanghanel, Pro Vice-Chancellor, University of West London

Professor Jonathan Haslam, Director, Institute for Effective Education

Professor Steve Higgins, Professor of Education, Durham University

Dame Alison Peacock, CEO, Chartered College of Teaching

Judy Sebba, Professor of Education, Rees Centre, University of Oxford

Anna Vignoles, Professor of Education, University of Cambridge

Dr Emma Wisby, Head of Policy and Public Affairs, UCL Institute of Education

Education Media Centre is a registered charity No. 1153567

All worldwide rights reserved for all content on this site.
Copyright © Education Media Centre 2013-2021

learnedly broadcast by